Home » Community » Shapeways Shops » Something needs to be done
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
Something needs to be done [message #74966] Wed, 18 September 2013 11:48 UTC Go to next message
avatar TDRWholesale  is currently offline TDRWholesale
Go to my shop
I am the owner of TDR Innovations. I am an engineer who has been doing 3D modeling for about 25 years now. TDR Innovations makes scale model car parts for hobbyists.

The Shapeways printing service has opened up the world of 3D printing to a lot of people and I do applaud you for that. But as we all know the pioneers always take the arrows.......and I have an arrow for you

TDR Innovations has over 1000 kits we offer for sale to the automotive modeler. In these 1000 kits is about 5000 individual parts. We follow your guidelines on the design of our parts and we print them out to make sure they are printable. We then offer them up for sale through our website and our wholesalers and then the problems start.

"Your part cannot be printed" or there are missing parts.

Here is an email I just received from one of our wholesalers:

Another item that can't be printed! I have a back order for this and now it's further delayed.
Why are these items that I've been buying, now unable to print?
I'm losing confidence here and don't know what error I'll get in each order.
I ordered U-Joints recently and at least 6 of the actual u-joints were missing. That's one complete set I can't sell. I only have the yokes. It's too much trouble to deal with Shapeways on missing items, so I don't. It's getting to the point where I've stopped ordering anything with small parts in it. The U-Joints are now on that list, too.