Building an articulated figure and need help with resolution

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 379449_deleted, Jun 19, 2013.

1. yetijoints.jpg hello everyone, I am a toy designer working with another 3D artist to build a number of action figures that I wish to have printed through shapeways.
    I wish to get your feedback on what the resolution should be on the components that will make up the figure.
    the figure is 6" tall and made up of the following pieces:
    Head
    Torso
    Shoulder joint x 2
    Upper arm x 2
    Forearm x 2
    Thigh x 2
    Calf x 2
    Foot x 2
    Hand x 2

Should the file be uploaded in pieces? or one entire file?
    Thank you, I am not sure how to go about doing this.

2. The creature is being built in Zbrush currently in pieces and I am not sure what poly amount to set per piece.
    I have heard that each section has to be 500K or less, is this true?

3. UniverseBecoming
    UniverseBecoming Well-Known Member
    No, not true. It's one million polygons per file. :)

You don't usually want to break it up into multiple files cuz each material has a handling charge for each print job. Typically, what is done is to do as much as possible with the million polygon limit. For this design that you have depicted, you may want to break it up into two files or so, this will give you extra polygons for the hair texture that will cover the entire body.

Keep in mind though that some of the materials like the metals do not allow multiple loose parts per file.

4. monstertray.jpg thanks for getting back to me, I will be breaking the image up in to two files that would look similar to this based on your feedback. 1 million will help keep some of the detail and I tried to move the most detailed sections to a tray of there own.
    Let me know what you think....

Last edited: Jun 20, 2013
  5. UniverseBecoming