Durability, archival materials.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 377318_deleted, Jun 14, 2013.

1. I am an artist who does some work mathematically. I want to generate the forms through printing, but I have no actual idea how long models hold up for. Can they be improved by backing up with, or impregnating with other materials? What changes do you see over time, do things get brittle, disintegrate, or yellow for example?

2. FreeRangeBrain
    FreeRangeBrain Active Member
    The plastics will likely degrade per their "natural" limitations. I have no idea for the sandstone, other than the dyes will fade eventually. The metals are your best bet for longevity, though all but the gold plated will corrode eventually. The other option for the metals is to take them to your local plating shop and have them flash chrome the item. What most people think of as chrome plating is actually nickel plating for that white/silvery colour and a flashed layer of chromium as an anti-odidizing agent. The flashed chrome is so thin as to be transparent.

3. UniverseBecoming
    UniverseBecoming Well-Known Member
    Outdoors, ultraviolet light from the sun will be highly detrimental to Shapeways' plastic materials. Indoors it would be oxidation that one would worry about. Colors will fade over years, but I think physical degradation would be minimal indoors. The metals will easily last for thousands of years indoors with little degradation in arid regions.

As for post process treatments that could be done to improve longevity we would need to know what material. What Shapeways material did you have in mind?

4. Hi, thanks for your responses. I'm a novice at 3D printing, but you can see my work online at annpreston-sculptor.com, but anyway, I've begun to work on it a little, Do correct me if I get this wrong.