Home » Community » Work in progress » Sandstone question. Would this work/print?
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
Sandstone question. Would this work/print? [message #63838] Mon, 11 March 2013 22:41 UTC Go to next message
avatar Zenchuck  is currently offline Zenchuck
Go to my shop
http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/4824/wtpq.jpg

This is a detail in a project I am currently working on. It is a knob that is supposed to rotate. I have carefully made the clearances at .9 mm and the center cylinder is 3 mm diameter. My question is regarding the height of the knob itself. I am new to printing in general and I know that min. width is specified is 2 mm but in this case is it still considered a "wall"?

Thanks for any insight into this.

~Andrew
Re: Sandstone question. Would this work/print? [message #63876 is a reply to message #63838 ] Tue, 12 March 2013 12:58 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar Youknowwho4eva is currently online Youknowwho4eva
Go to my shop
Shapie Expert
I work here
The general rule for walls vs details is, if it sticks out farther than it is wide, it's a wall. If it's wider or equal to how tall it is, it's a detail.

I learned a long time ago the wisest thing I can do is be on my own side, be an advocate for myself and others like me. -Maya Angelou
michael@shapeways.com Community Advocate
Re: Sandstone question. Would this work/print? [message #63992 is a reply to message #63876 ] Wed, 13 March 2013 13:51 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
Go to my shop
Okay, thanks for the tip. I heightened them a bit.

My second question is about the auto boolean features at Shapeways.

-How far do objects need to intersect? For example, if you had 2 cubes that were placed exactly next to each other in 3d with 0 space between would the object print as a single solid object?

thanks,

Andrew