Home »  » General Discussion » Rings and Blender
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
Rings and Blender [message #55470] Wed, 17 October 2012 02:01 UTC Go to next message
avatar crazydoodler6  is currently offline crazydoodler6
Go to all my models
Hey I am new to shapeways and 3D modeling in general. Anyway, I was wondering if anyone had any direction or tutorials on how to go from a blender model to a printed object. I am hoping to design an engagement ring for my girl friend and am wondering about how to go about setting a stone in a ring printed from shapeways. Any help any can offer would be appreciated
Re: Rings and Blender [message #55475 is a reply to message #55470 ] Wed, 17 October 2012 10:14 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar bartv  is currently offline bartv
Go to my shop
Hi,

Blender Cookie will publish a Shapeways/Blender videotutorial soon! The basic process is described here:

http://www.shapeways.com/tutorials/exporting-from-blender

I'm not sure what the requirements are for setting a stone, maybe someone else can comment on that?

Cheers,

Bart

Community Manager Europe | Shapeways
Re: Rings and Blender [message #55537 is a reply to message #55475 ] Wed, 17 October 2012 21:26 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar Mswlik  is currently offline Mswlik
Go to my shop
http://www.youtube.com/user/ward7299?feature=watch
This guy has some really good tutorials although sometimes he has nonmanifold models.
Hope this helps.
Re: Rings and Blender [message #55546 is a reply to message #55537 ] Thu, 18 October 2012 02:53 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar victorrings  is currently offline victorrings
Go to my shop
i make all my stuff with blender... even though i have used other programs in the past.

blender is well suited for ring making- i would pay special attention to the mirror function the solidify function and the subdivision function.