I think I Meshed this up.

Discussion in 'Software and Applications' started by rithmikansur, Aug 8, 2012.

1. rithmikansur
    rithmikansur Member
    When i comes to 3D file formats i'm pretty much a total noob.
    I'm curious if someone out there can tell me what the correct terminology is to describe the difference between the two meshes shown in the attached image. At this point i'm not even sure what i should be googling.

The sphere on the left is an OBJ exported from Sculptris, opened in MeshLab. The sphere on the right is an STL exported from Autodesk Inventor and opened in MeshLab.

If I attempt to export the sphere on the right as an OBJ and open it in Sculptris, all heck breaks loose. For the sphere i get an error message.
    "too many connections to a vertex". For other shapes, it may import okay.
    BUT, it there's usually a tremendous amount of distortion.

Any light that can be shed on this is greatly appreciated!
    Thanks in advance!
    Rith.

Attached Files:

2. stop4stuff
    stop4stuff Well-Known Member
    Basically, Sculptris cannot cope with more than, iirc, 24 lines (face edges) connecting to a vertex (point), although the number may be plus or minus 8.

The distortion you see from models loaded into Sculptris is due to the way Sculptris works - basically it will try to smooth out any shapes, the fewer faces shapes have, the more the distortion will be. Try loading a cube in and see what happens.

With your two spheres, the difference is the way the meshes are constructed, the one on the left is more economical with triangle distribution basically for smoother mesh manipulation within Sculptris. As to what the types are called I haven't a clue (sorry) but it may be worth having a dig around on the Scultris website to see if there's any answers there.

3. rithmikansur
    rithmikansur Member
    I see,
    I did check out the Sculptris forum but they didn't seem to know if there was a different name for the different types of meshes.